Xena Beebe

21 Apr

(Beebe at age 21)

submitted by beebe

I’m always looking for the next exciting thing to do.
Before I was a football player I was an
actress/techie, a swordfighter, and a Taiko drummer.
Barb and Nancy were at my place yesterday after our
drive home from Modesto. We ended up looking through
some of my photo albums. They were impressed with me
as a swordfighter and wanted a pic and a blurb for the
WFB Talk website. So here it is!

Back in 2001/2002 I was a swordfighter in the SCA
(Society for Creative Anachronism). It’s a group of
people that get together for events, wars, tournaments
all in Renaissance garb and mindset. There are kings
and queens, storytellers, knights in armor, food and
drink. The SCA is an international organization
dedicated to researching and re-creating the arts and
skills of pre-17th-century Europe. Their “Known World”
consists of 19 kingdoms, with over 30,000 members
residing in countries around the world. Members
dressed in clothing of the Middle Ages and Renaissance
attend events which may feature tournaments, arts
exhibits, classes, workshops, dancing, feasts, and
more. Their “royalty” hold courts at which they
recognize and honor members for their contributions to
the group. For more information, check out their
website at www.sca.org.

